Pre-Disaster Mitigation Planning

SECOG staff assisted with the Lincoln County and Minnehaha County Multi-Hazard Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan 2017.  It is a multi-jurisdictional plan that identifies hazards and assesses the risks historically faced by Lincoln and Minnehaha Counties.  The plan incorporates a mitigation strategy that encompassed a set of goals, objectives, and action steps to help mitigate against and minimize damages imposed by the identified hazards.  This plan illustrates Lincoln County, Minnehaha County, and its communities/jurisdictions’ current and future mitigation actions and strategies in accordance with the guidance materials provided by FEMA and the State of South Dakota’s Office of Emergency Management.

This year they are assisting the counties of Clay, McCook, Turner, and Union with the Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plans. 

For additional information, contact Leslie Mastroianni at (605) 681-8184 or or Sara Lum at (605) 681-8188 or



A draft of the Turner County Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan 2018 Update can be accessed at here:



A draft of the Union County Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan 2018 Update can be accessed here: 


A draft of the McCook County Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan 2018 Update can be accessed here: 

McCook County Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan DRAFT Update.pdf


A draft of the Clay County Pre-Disaster mitigation Plan 2018 can be accessed here: 


Clay County 2019 Pre-Diaster Mitigation DRAFT