About Us

In 1970, South Dakota Governor Frank Farrar signed an Executive Order creating six Planning and Development Districts in South Dakota to provide staff support to local governmental entities. For more than 40 years, these districts have promoted regional cooperation and the economical delivery of services.

South Eastern Council of Governments (SECOG) is the planning and development district that serves Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, and Union Counties as well as the municipalities within those counties. Membership in SECOG is voluntary, and board members consist of local elected officials, state legislators, and private citizens.

SECOG relies on a variety of funding sources including membership dues, state funds, federal funds, and by performing various other services under a contractual basis.