Our Mission: Facilitate responsible community planning and economic development.

What We Do

The South Eastern Council of Governments (SECOG) is a planning and development district that serves Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner and Union Counties and the 40 municipalities located within those counties. SECOG was founded on the concept of regional cooperation and the sharing of services including access to professional staff.

Membership Services 

  • Project Development and Funding Applications
  • Land Use Planning and Zoning
  • Geographic Information Systems
  • Contractual Services

Sister Organizations
SEDF Vector JPG - Copy

The Foundation provides financing to individuals seeking to start or expand a business or purchase a home through the 502 Home Loan Partnership program. SECOG serves as staff for the Foundation. 

Logo-with-Tagline - Copy

In partnership with the Small Business Administration, Dakota Business Finance provides financing for a wide range of businesses. SECOG serves as staff for the organization.

MPO Logo

The designated Metropolitan Planning Organization in the Sioux Falls urbanized area is the Urbanized Development Commission (UDC). Staff for the UDC is provided by SECOG.